Review: March 2015 Loot Crate

So I have been aware of Loot Crate since it first launch but have always been hesitant on the whole mystery box idea. Some boxes are slam dunks and are well worth the $20 per box price tag. Others, not so much.

I have recently gotten into Pop! collecting and when I saw two of the recent Loot Crates had exclusive Pop! figures I decided to jump in with March’s “Covert” themed Lootcrate.

First What Came in the Box

DSCN9924Since this was my first ever box, I was able to use their new subscriber discount code and got the box for $16 (shipping and tax included). Inside the box were 8 items. One exclusive t-shit, a rubber LED watch, a spy themed Mad Libs book, an exclusive Agents of Shield prop replica, a paracord bracelet, some memo books, and 2 comics (one physical, one digital).

DSCN9925DSCN9926First off the shirt and watch! For something that is usually $20 a box I expected a cheap low quality print t-shirt. The quality of this James Bond themed shirt is amazing for the price. Even in my video I immediately comment on the softness. Unfortunately the print on my shirt is a little messed up so I might contact support.

The watch is a little childish but still cool. I might wear it around for ease of time telling but I can tell it’s not meant to last long. It’s been last than 24 hours and the rubber is starting to peel (I haven’t even wore it much yet).

DSCN9930Mad Libs was a fun game….15 years ago. It sticks with the covert/spy theme but I probably will throw this in a draw and never use it.

The bracelet is pretty neat. I use to make these when I was bored but Orange isn’t my color. I might wear it when I’m out in the wilderness or attempting to appear manly!

DSCN9928When Loot Crate announced an exclusive prop replica from AoS I was hoping for something cool like a miniature  replica of the diviner or some gadget. Not some piece of plastic. I like the show and get what the item is but even if this was sold for $3 I would give it a pass.
DSCN9932Sadly the memo pads were my favorite thing besides the t-shirt. Even though I have a fancy phone and computer I still like to take down notes the old fashion way. I have a pile of note pads that I have completely used up so I will actually be using these once I get through my current book.

I have already redeemed the code for a digital copy of Ninjak #1 but I haven’t had the chance to read it yet.

DSCN9931I had to Google Orphan Black to be honest. I like comics and I will probably read it but kind of ehh about it now. But if you do like this show or comic, it is an exclusive cover 😀

Final Thoughts:

Looking back at the early Loot Crates I see a decrease in quality. Earlier boxes regularly came with shirts, figures, and other things that appeared well worth the price. Now, some boxes still have awesome finds but most (like this box) have 1 or 2 decent items with a bunch of filler included. I will say it’s a decent price for the subscription (a shirt like this will cost ~$15 alone) especially if you use one of their discount codes.

After opening this box, I canceled my subscription because I’m still not sold on mystery boxes – even with April’s theme being Fantasy with an exclusive Game of Thrones item >.<

I’m done with Loot Crate for now but if you want to try it out (again, exclusive GoT item next month) click the link below to sign up!
Subscription Link: http://looted.by/b-TAv
*Use Code SAVE3 at checkout to save $3*
______________________________________________________________

However, I am not done with subscription boxes yet! I have ordered Marvel’s new Collector Corps box (which is confirmed to have an exclusive Pop!) and will be doing a review and unboxing of that next month.

Leave a comment